Eclipse Awards Finalists Live Broadcast on TVG

Horse Racing Radar
Valerie Mellema
Valerie Mellema is a Staff writer for Horse Racing Radar
Friday, January 15, 2021

TVG will be televising a live announcement of the 2020 Eclipse Awards Finalists at 9 a.m. PT/Noon ET. Presented by Spendthrift Farm, TVG will also televise the live 50th Eclipse Awards ceremony on Thursday, January 28th at 8 p.m. ET. It will also be streamed on various other outlets. 

The Eclipse Awards honor the outstanding achievements in horse racing over the past years. Both horses and humans are recognized. Multiple categories are awarded including:

  • Horse of the Year

  • Two-Year-Old Male

  • Two-Year-Old Filly

  • Three-Year-Old Male

  • Three-Year-Old Filly

  • Older Dirt Male

  • Older Dirt Female

  • Male Sprinter

  • Female Sprinter

  • Male Turf Horse

  • Female Turf horse

  •  Steeplechase Horse

  • Owner

  • Breeder

  • Jockey

  • Apprentice Jockey

  • Trainer

The Eclipse Awards are named after the 18th-Century racehorse and foundation sire of the Thoroughbred, Eclipse. Eclipse began racing at the age of 5 and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. He sired winners of 344 races including 3 Epsom Derby winners.

The Eclipse Awards are sponsored this year by Spendthrift Farm, Keeneland, Racetrack Television Network, Four Roses Bourbon, Daily Racing Form, Breeders' Cup, FanDuel Group, The Stronach Group, TVG, Dean Dorton, Stonestreet Farm, Jackson Family Wines, Florida HBPA, Runhappy, Rood & Riddle Equine Hospital, Hallway Feeds and the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association. 

Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements over the past year in horse racing have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Awards are voted on by the NTRA, member racetrack racing officials, Equibase field personnel, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters. Awards are also given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.